
FREQUENTLY 
ASKED QUESTIONS

OPERATOR PHASE

What do alert Axis units do if they are not on patrol lines 
or sentry points and there are no spotted Operators on the 
board? In this rare circumstance the Axis units will follow the 
rules for guards (maintain current facing unless reacting to earshot 
or another Operator is spotted) until they are either killed or the 
alarm sounds.

Do sentries behave differently in the Stealth and Battle 
Sections? Yes, in the Stealth Section sentries will leave their points 
to advance on spotted Operators whereas during the Battle Section, 
sentries still on a point will only abandon it if there are no other Axis 
units available to advance.

AXIS ADVANCE PHASE

EVENT PHASE
Can the cigarette token be used on a vehicle? No, only Axis 
Infantry and Ofcers.

Can Axis units on a spawn tile attack or be attacked? No, Axis 
units on spawn tiles in both the Stealth Section and Battle Section can 
only attack or be attacked once they have entered the board.

AXIS ATTACK PHASE
Do attacks made by Axis units alert other Axis units or 
advance the stealth meter? No, only “loud” attacks by Operators 
alert Axis units and advance the stealth meter (attacks using weapons 
with an earshot value greater than 0).

END PHASE
If the alarm sounds in the end phase due to multiple criteria 
being met (eg. Alert axis units AND the presence of the 
Willys Jeep) are all Operators meeting criteria spotted? Yes. 
In the case stated above both Operators in the Willys AND the 
closest operator to alert Axis units would be spotted.

Do Axis vehicles see over low walls when adjacent or looking 
down the length of them? Yes, a vehicle adjacent to a low wall or 
with a low wall in line with the left or right side of its occupied 
squares has full visibility just like infantry units.

When attacking an Axis vehicle which square needs to be 
within my Operator’s LOS? Operators only need LOS to a single 
square containing a vehicle to make an attack.

Will a Mortar Team attack if there is risk of hitting a supply 
dump? No, Mortar Teams treat supply dumps like Axis units and will 
not attack Operators within 7 squares of them.

Can an assassination attack be used against a Mortar Team?
Yes, but the attack will only kill one of the units, the remaining unit
will ip to alert and the Operator is spotted.

AXIS VEHICLES

AXIS UNITS
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OVERVIEW

Where is earshot range of the sprint action measured from? 
Sprint action earshot is measured from each of the squares that the 
Operator moves into (not the starting square).

Are Operator attacks on Axis units ever modied for cover? 
No, cover modiers are only applied when Axis units attack 
Operators adjacent to low cover.

Can an assassination attack be made over a low wall? Yes, 
assassination attacks can be made over low walls and through 
windows.

Can the move & attack action be used to assassinate and then 
move into the square containing the corpse to pick it up? Yes.

Can the mark target action be used on fuel barrels? Yes.

Can an Operator crouch after marking a target? No.

Can the mark target action be combined with the take aim 
action? No, as marked attacks can only take place during the Axis 
Advance Phase, Event Phase or the Axis Patrol Phase. Note that a 
crouched Operator cannot use a mark target action.

Do Axis units make reaction attacks in response to an 
Operator’s marked attack? No.

When does the alarm sound? The alarm sounds when either the 
stealth tracker reaches the alarm symbol (    ) or an explosive weapon 
(a weapon with an alarm symbol as its earshot range) is used. This 
includes exploding fuel barrels.

What is the range of an Axis unit’s LOS? Axis units have a 90 
degree eld of view to their front, for a distance of 8 squares. 
Additionally they can see one adjacent square to their left and right.

When is an Operator spotted (    )? If an Operator carries out 
an action within Axis LOS they are spotted (unless the action results 
in the Axis unit being killed). If an Axis unit rotates and gains LOS to 
an Operator for any reason (a loud weapon, sprint action, event card, 
or a failed attack) the Operator is spotted. If during the course of its 
movement, a patrol gains LOS to an Operator, the Operator is 
spotted. If an Operator carries out an assassination attack and the 
target of the attack is within the LOS of another Axis unit, the 
Operator is spotted.

Can Operators move through squares containing Axis units?
Yes, and likewise Axis units can move through squares containing 
Operators, providing that the Operator or Axis unit can nish their 
turn in an unoccupied square.

Are hedge, crate and the rst row of rock squares fully visible? 
Yes, these squares are considered to be at a higher elevation so always 
fully visible unless something blocks LOS (e.g. another rock square).

Can an Operator see out of a rock square? Yes, unless something 
blocks LOS (e.g. another rock square).

Can an item be placed into an occupied square? Yes. Note 
that traps and mines are triggered when Axis units “move into”
the square so placing into an occupied square will not trigger them.
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If an Axis unit gains LOS on an Operator at the same time as 
stepping into the square containing the trap, is the Operator 
spotted? No, the Operator is not spotted and the Axis unit does not 
ip to alert or shout a warning. 

As attacks with the Speargun are classed as assassinations, 
can it still be used if the Operator is spotted? Yes, as the 
Speargun does not require the Operator to sneak up on Axis units it 
can still be used. Additionally, it is not a requirement that the 
Operator is positioned in the square directly behind the target.  

When using Scuba gear can Anders exit the water crouched? 
Yes, if the Operator is exiting the water with a move action (not 
sprint) the scuba token can be swapped for his regular token in either 
standing or crouched mode.

When an explosion triggers the alarm do Axis units turn to 
face the explosion? No, Axis units never turn to face explosions. If 
an explosion triggers the alarm they ip to alert, maintaining current 
facing. Players must then nominate an Operator to be spotted (if 
there are no spotted Operators on the board already). 

Do walls block explosive weapons such as grenades, mines or 
bombs? No, any Axis units under the blast template can have 
successful attack rolls allocated to them.

Do explosions set off other explosive weapons? Attacks from 
explosive weapons may be allocated to fuel barrels to detonate them, 
but bombs & mines cannot be detonated in this manner.

When Nancy ends an interaction does the Axis unit turn back 
to face its patrol line / sentry point? No, the Axis unit will maintain 
its facing (and in the case of patrolmen no longer facing their patrol 
line, not move) until an event card indicates that they should rotate. 

Can Nancy abandon the garotte and leave the victim alive?
Yes but the Axis unit would turn, ip to alert & shout. Nancy would 
be spotted and immediately attacked. 

Can Operators deployed from a vehicle use their normal 4AP 
in the same turn? Yes. Operators deployed from a vehicle can move 
and ght in the same turn.

Does a vehicle using a move action have to move the full 
amount of squares stated for the action? No, it can move “up to” 
the stated amount.

Does a vehicle need to have an Operator in the appropriate 
gunners seat to use the attack action? Yes, to use the rear gun on 
the Willys Jeep there would need to be an Operator in the rear 
gunners seat.

Can Operator vehicles partially leave the map to drive around 
obstacles? Yes, Operator vehicles can do this in the same manner as 
Axis vehicles.

Can Operators take their normal actions while inside vehicles, 
such as attacking? No.

Page 10 - In the Ofcer LOS diagram the second hedge square 
from the left should be fully visible. 

Page 11 - Paddy’s token should be showing the crouched side in 
the blind re diagram.    

Page 17 - Jock’s token should be the spotted (    ) version in all of 
the Axis Attack Phase diagrams.

They Who Dare 4 - Wunderwaffe  
In the map key “Axis Panzer II Assault” should be “Axis Panzer III 
Assault”.
  
Kickstarter - Hellraisers
In the map key “Axis Motorbike Convoy” should be “Axis 
Motorbike Patrol”.

 

OTHER
Henri’s Operator Board
Kickstarter Operator “Henri” has 
an error on both sides of his 
Operator board. The stick grenade 
should have a range of 6 just like 
the regular grenade.
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